7 iPhone Settings You Should Turn Off Right Now

Looking to optimize your iPhone but don’t know where to start? Then this guide is for you. There are many features hidden deep within the Settings app that can slow down your iPhone, drain its battery, and affect your personal privacy. In this article, I’ll tell you about 7 iPhone settings you should turn off right now!

iPhone settings you should turn off

Here are iPhone settings you should turn off to save battery life and increase your privacy:

#1. Unnecessary Background App Refresh

Allowing apps to constantly refresh in the background is among5 common iPhone mistakes that people make. Background App Refresh is an iPhone setting that allows apps on your device to automatically search for new information even if they are not actively running on the screen. This feature is great for apps which require current information in order to work well, such as news, podcast, or stock apps.

However, Background App Refresh is unnecessary for most apps. In addition, it candrain turns of your iPhones’s battery power by making your device work harder than it needs to. Simply follow these steps to turn off background app refresh on your iPhone:

Head over to Settings and tap General -> Background App Refresh. Turn off the switch next to any apps that don’t need to be constantly updating in the background of youriPhone.

#2. Share My Location

As the name suggests, share My Location does precisely what it describes — allows your iPhone to share your location. Since you don’t need to constantly share your location, you probably don’t need to leave this setting on. Turning this setting off will save battery on your iPhone! Simply follow these steps to turn off share my location on your iPhone:

Head over to Settings and tap Privacy -> Location Services. Tap Share My Location, then turn off the switch next to Share My Location.

#3. iPhone Analytics & iCloud Analytics

iPhone analytics is a setting that saves your usage data and sends it to Apple and app developers. This setting can consume turns of your iPhone’s battery power, and we trust Apple can improve its product perfectly without our data. Simply follow these steps to turn off iPhone analytics and iCloud analytics:

Head over to Settings and tap Privacy -> Analytics. Turn off the switches next to Share iPhone Analytics. Just below Share iPhone Analytics, you’ll see Share iCloud Analytics. We recommend turning off this setting for similar reasons!

#4. Unnecessary System Services

Under normal circumstances, most of the System Services are turned on by default. However, most of them are unnecessary. Simply follow these steps to turn off system services on your iPhone:
Open Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services -> System Services. Turn off everything except Find My iPhone and and Emergency Calls & SOS. Turning off these settings willimprove your iPhones battery life.

#5. Significant Locations

Significant Locations tracks all the places you visit most often with you’re iPhone. We’ll be honest — it’s rather weird. We recommend clearing your location history and turning this setting completely off. You’ll notice improvement in battery life and increase your personal privacy when you do! Simply follow these steps to turn off significant location on your iPhone:

Open Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services -> System Services -> Significant Locations.

First, tap Clear History at the bottom of the screen. Then, turn off the switch next to Significant Locations.

#6. Tracking for advertising

According to Apple, tracking for advertising should help you get advertising tailored to your interests. Tracking for advertising allows advertisers track your behavior on different pages and then deliver to you advertising that will suit your individual needs. This feature cannot be turned off totally, however, it can be restricted. Keep in mind, it does not limit the number of ads, it simply limits advertisers from targeting specific adds to you. Simply follow these steps to limit Ad Tracking:
Head over to settings > Privacy > Advertising. Turn on the switch next to Limit Ad Tracking.

#7. Push Mail

Push Mail is a feature that constantly checks to see if you’ve received new emails. This setting consumes huge amount of your iPhones battery life and many people don’t need their email accounts to be checked frequently.

Simply follow these steps to turn off Push Mail on your iPhone:
Head over to Settings and tap Passwords & Accounts -> Fetch New Data. First, turn off the switch next to Push at the top of the screen. Then, tap Every 15 Minutes under Fetch. You can still check to see if you have received new emails by opening the Mail app or a third-party email app at any time.
That’s pretty much it on the iPhone settings you should turn off right now.

iPhone settings you should turn Off! now you know

You’ve successfully optimized your iPhone! We hope you found this article useful. Did any of these tips surprise you? We’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments section below! We also have plenty of other articles that I suggest you check right now.