“This App Is No Longer Shared With You” Error On IPhone & IPad: Fix

·

Some iPhone and iPad users are experiencing a curious “This app is no longer shared with you” error message when trying to use some apps on their apple devices. Some users are experiencing this error randomly, while others it is showing up after updating apps, or after updating their device to iOS 13.5, iPadOS 13.5 and iOS 12.4.7.

The error message appears as a pop-up dialog when you try to use the app, and then trying to use the App Store to correct the problem fails, resulting in an endless loop and an app that is not working.

If you’re experiencing the “This app is no longer shared with you. To use it, you must buy it from the App Store” error message, simply follow the steps below to fix the issue.

How to Fix “This app is no longer shared with you” iPhone / iPad Error

You can fix this problem easily however, it’s slightly annoying; offload the app and then reinstall it, or removing the app and reinstalling it. Most users prefer Offloading apps because it allows app data and logins to be preserved, so that’s what we’ll focus on here.

  1. Start the “Settings” app
  2. Tap on “General” in settings
  3. Go to “iPhone Storage” (or “iPad Storage”)
  4. Find the app showing the error message in the list and tap on it
  5. Select “Offload App” and confirm your decision to offload the app from the iPhone or iPad
  6. Now, the app will be offloaded and be removed from your device, then at the same screen choose “Reinstall App”

Repeat the above steps with any other apps displaying the “This app is no longer shared with you. To use it, you must buy it from the App Store”

Keep in mind, you don’t need to purchase the app again, assuming you already owned it initially anyway.

Basically, the above steps removes the app from theiPhone oriPad, then reinstalls the app again. Because we’re focusing on using the “Offload” method rather than deletion, the apps data is preserved. If you want, you can use the standard app deletion process instead if you’d prefer to, but doing so will delete any app data within the app meaning, you will lose things such as the logging password, saved games, and more.

Note that you can also experience this error message when using family sharing, but for the vast majority of users with the problem at the moment that is not the case, suggesting it’s a bug or some other hiccup in service. Occasionally issues like this happen with no particular fault or reason, and sometimes they happen after software updates, changes to App Store settings or payment info like the Verification Required error, or even completely at random.

Have you encountered the “This app is no longer shared with you” error message when using some apps on iPhone and iPad after updating your device? Has the above trick worked to fix the problem for you? Have you found a different solution? Share your experiences with us in the comments section below.

Related Topics
About the author
GeeksModo Staff
GeeksModo Staffhttps://geeksmodo.com
GeeksModo Staff is a team of iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch experts led by Moses Johnson. We're passionate about all things Apple!

Submit a comment

On the wire

Trending Now

Editors’ Recommendations