How to know if someone blocked your phone number on an iPhone

By Dave Johnson - Executive Editor
4 Min Read

If you are making unwanted phone calls or messages on an iPhone to someone, the recipient of these messages may finally decide to block you. But if you genuinely didn’t mean to harass them and are unsure of your current standing with them, how do you know if your number is blocked on an iPhone? What are the tell-tale signs?

WHAT TO KNOW

  • To know if someone blocked you on iPhone, try sending both an iMessage and SMS message — if they are not delivered, you may be blocked.
  • If you phone someone and your call go straight to voicemail, that is usually a sign of being blocked,.
  • You can also try calling them using a different number or device.

What you should know about blocked numbers on iPhone

Before we start, it’s worth pointing out that there is no foolproof way to know for sure if you have been blocked on an iPhone. If you are having trouble reaching a friend via phone call, FaceTime, iMessage or text message, it’s possible that they may have blocked your number. However, undelivered messages could mean the phone has been switched off, for example. Phone calls going straight to voicemail could mean the person is just in an area with poor mobile phone coverage. Or the person could have their phone in Focus Mode or Airplane Mode.

In truth, the only way to know for sure that you’ve been blocked by someone is to ask them directly. But if you’re looking for an approach that’s less awkward, we’ve got an easy workaround to determine if your number is blocked on iPhone.

How to tell if someone blocked you on your iPhone

Here are ways to check if your number is blocked on iPhone:

Check the color of your texts

You may have noticed that the text messages in your iPhone’s Messages app can appear as either green or blue.

The difference? Green messages are ordinary SMS text messages, while blue messages are using Apple’s proprietary iMessage format.

When you send an iMessage to someone who has blocked you, your message will look like a regular SMS text (green bubble) instead of the blue iMessage bubble. If you’re used to seeing blue iMessage text bubbles but they are suddenly green, it can be an indication you’ve been blocked.

Please note, there are different reasons why a message you send may appear green instead of blue, such as a poor cellular data connection. You can only use the green text bubble as a clue, indicating that you might be blocked.

Send them an iMessage

When you send an iMessage to another iPhone user who blocked you, the iMessage won’t be delivered. From your end, the Message app will say "Sent as Text Message" underneath a green bubble, indicating it was sent as an SMS message. However, even if you get a notification saying "Sent as Text Message," this is somewhat deceptive. Your message was sent but not delivered. The recipient’s device will never show your message. The recipient will have no idea you sent a message. If you are not getting a response and your messages keep being sent as SMS texts, it is highly likely you are blocked.

Send them an SMS message

When you send them an SMS and you get the "Delivered" notification underneath it, you weren’t blocked. If you get a notification like "Message Not Delivered" or you get no notification at all, that’s a sign of a potential block.

Give them a phone call

Next, you could try calling the person. If the call goes right to voicemail or rings once (or a half ring) then goes to voicemail, that’s further evidence you may have been blocked. However, again, this is only a clue. Your calls will also go straight to voicemail if the person’s phone is turned off or have a drained battery, or they might simply be in Airplane Mode or Focus mode.

Mask your number

If you’ve tried calling them a few times with no luck, try masking your number and then try calling them. However, this is heading a bit into harassment territory, so you need to be extremely careful here.

By masking your number, it will appear on their phone as No Caller ID or Unknown Number. Therefore, with no number available to block, your call should either be immediately picked up at the other end, or it will ring for more than one ring. If it does, your number has been blocked on an iPhone.

The quickest way to Mask your phone number is to use the *67 trick, which is referred to as "star six seven" for reference. This method has the benefit of being temporary, allowing you to block only singular calls, which is handy to know if you are blocked on iPhone.

  1. Open the iPhone’s Phone app.
  2. Type "*67" and then enter the rest of the number normally.
  3. Place the call. If it rings through normally with this masked phone number (or if the person answers), then that almost definitely means your number was blocked.

Turn off Caller ID

Similarly, by disabling caller ID in your phone’s settings, you can see if it’s just your number that’s having issues connecting to the other device.

  1. Open your iPhone’s Settings app.
  2. Scroll down to the Phone tab and tap it.
  3. Tap the "Show My Caller ID" tab.
  4. Toggle the button my "Show My Caller ID" off (so it’s white instead of green).
  5. Place the call. If it rings through normally with the iPhone’s Caller ID turn off (or if the person answers), then that almost definitely means your number was blocked.

Try a different number or device

If you suspect someone is blocking your number, the quickest and easiest way to investigate further is to call from another phone. You can use an office phone or a pay phone (if you can find one) or borrow someone else’s phone—just make sure they know why you want to use it. Remember, your goal here is not necessarily to talk to the person in question, but to check the rings. If the number you’re calling rings multiple times from another phone, but only once on yours, there is a strong likelihood they are blocking you.

Respect someone’s decision to block you

While these tips can help you know if someone blocked you on iPhone, there’s something else you should consider before becoming a detective. It’s OK if someone blocked you!

If someone has blocked you, please make sure to respect their decision and do not attempt to circumnavigate that block, except in the most exceptional of circumstances. There are many reasons to block someone, and more often than not, you’re not owed an explanation for it. By all means, try these methods to confirm the block as best you can, but then do your best to forget about it and move on.

By Dave Johnson Executive Editor
Dave Johnson is the editor-in-chief at GeeksChalk where he oversees all of site’s evergreen content to ensure it’s up to date with the latest information. Hailing from New Jersey in the US, he has over seven years of experience in the tech journalism space and holds a degree in English Literature. In his spare time, Dave can found checking out the latest video games, immersing himself in his favorite sporting pastime of football, and petting every dog he comes across in the outside world.
Leave a comment