Got a tip for us?

How to control the location information you share on iPad

You control whether iPad and apps have information about your location.

To figure out where you are when you’re getting directions, setting up meetings, and more, Location Services uses information, when available, from GPS networks on Wi-Fi + Cellular models and from your Bluetooth® connections. It also uses your local Wi-Fi networks, and your cellular network when Cellular Data is on. When an app is using Location Services, its icon appears in the status bar.

You’re asked whether to turn on Location Services when you set up iPad, and afterward you can turn it on or off at any time. Many important iPad features stop working without it, though.

The first time an app wants location data from your iPad, you receive a request with an explanation. Some apps may make a one-time only request for your location. Other apps may ask you to share your location now and in the future. Whether you grant or deny ongoing access to your location, you can change an app’s access later.

A request from an app to use location data on iPad. Options are Allow Once, Allow While Using App, and Don’t Allow.

Turn on Location Services

If you didn’t turn on Location Services when you first set up iPad, go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Location Services, then turn on Location Services.

Important: If you turn off Location Services, many important iPad features stop working.

View apps using your location information

  1. Open Settings, tap Privacy & Security, and then tap Location Services.
  2. To review or change access settings for an app or to see its explanation for requesting Location Services, tap the app.

    Location Services settings in Privacy & Security settings, with options for sharing the location of your iPad, including custom settings for individual apps.

If you want an app to use your specific location, leave Precise Location on. If an app doesn’t need your exact location, your approximate location may be sufficient, so turn Precise Location off to share only that.

Note: With an app’s access set to Ask Next Time, the next time an app tries to use it, you’re asked to turn on Location Services again.

To see how a third-party app uses the information it’s requesting, read its terms and privacy policy.

Hide the map in Location Services alerts

When you allow an app to always use your location in the background, you may receive alerts about the app’s use of that information. (These alerts let you change your permission, if you want to.) In the alerts, a map shows locations recently accessed by the app.

To hide the map, go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Location Services > Location Alerts, then turn off Show Map in Location Alerts.

With the setting off, you continue to receive location alerts, but the map isn’t shown.

Review or change Location Services settings for system services

Several system services, such as location-based suggestions and location-based ads, use Location Services.

To see the status for each service, to turn Location Services on or off for each service, or to show the Location Services icon in the status bar when enabled system services use your location, go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Location Services > System Services.

See also