Got a tip for us?

How to leave or remove a member from a Family Sharing group on iPhone

In a Family Sharing group, the organizer can remove members or disband the group, and family members (other than teens with parental controls or children) can remove themselves. A removed family member immediately loses access to shared subscriptions and content purchased by other members.

Remove a member from a family group

In a Family Sharing group, the organizer can remove other members, and anyone who’s removed immediately loses access to shared subscriptions and to content other members purchased.

  1. Open Settings and then tap Family.
  2. Tap [member’s name], then tap Remove [member’s name] from Sharing Group.

Children under 13 can’t be removed from your Family Sharing group. Instead, you can delete their Apple Account or move them to another group.

Transferring a child under 13 from a family group affects the parental controls previously set. And removing a teen under 18 removes your previously set parental controls.

Leave a Family Sharing group

Leaving a Family Sharing group means you stop sharing your purchases and subscriptions with family members, and you immediately lose access to any content they’ve shared.

Note: The organizer can’t leave the Family Sharing group, so if you want to change the organizer, you’ll need to disband the group and have another adult create a new one.

  1. Open Settings and then tap Family.
  2. Tap [your name] and tap Stop Using Family Sharing.

Stop Family Sharing

When the family organizer turns off Family Sharing, it removes all family members from the group at the same time. With Family Sharing turned off, every member immediately loses access to the shared content and subscriptions.

Note: If a child under 13 is in the Family Sharing group, the organizer must move them to another group or delete their Apple Account before disbanding the group. Transferring a child under 13 from a family group will affect the parental controls previously set, and removing a teen under 18 will remove your previously set parental controls.

  1. Open Settings and then tap Family.
  2. Tap [your name] and tap Stop Using Family Sharing.