Got a tip for us?

How to share files and folders in iCloud Drive on iPad

After you set up iCloud Drive, you can share individual files and folders with friends and colleagues. When you change a shared file or folder, others see your changes automatically, and if you let people edit, their changes show up for you, too.

You can share a file or folder so only the people you choose can open it, or anyone with the link. And you can let them make changes, or restrict them to viewing only.

These are important characteristics of files and folders shared in iCloud Drive:

  • If you collaborate on a folder, all items added to that folder by you or other participants are automatically shared.
  • The link to a shared file includes its name. If the name or content is confidential, be sure to ask recipients not to forward the link to anyone else.
  • If you move a shared file to another folder or location, the link no longer works, and people lose access to the item.
  • Depending on the app, users might need to reopen a file or tap the original link to see the latest changes.

Share or collaborate on a file or folder

You can invite others to view or collaborate on the contents of a file or folder you own in iCloud Drive.

A file or folder can be shared so it opens only for people you choose, or for anyone with the link.

The contents of a file or folder can be open to changes, or you can restrict access so they’re view-only.

  1. Go to the Files app on your iPad.
  2. Go to a location and then touch and hold the file or folder you want to share.
  3. Tap the Share button, tap the menu under the item’s title, and tap Share a Link.
  4. To change who can access the file or folder and whether they can edit or just view and download, tap People you choose can edit and then do any of the following:

    • Only allow people you invite or approve to access the file or folder: Tap People you choose.

      Note: When you select “People you choose,” you can turn on Access Requests, which lets other people with the link ask you to approve their access.

    • Allow anyone with the link to access the file or folder: Tap Anyone with the link.
  5. Under New Participants Can, choose whether participants can edit or view and download only.
  6. Choose how you want to send your invitation.

Send a copy of a file or folder

  1. Start the Files app on your iPad.
  2. Go to a location and then touch and hold the file or folder you want to share.
  3. Tap the Share button and tap the menu under the item’s title. Then tap Send a Copy.
  4. Choose how you want to send your copy.

Invite more people to collaborate on a folder or file

If its access is set to “People you choose,” you can share a folder or file you’ve already shared with more people.

  1. Start the Files app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Shared at the top of the screen.
  3. Touch and hold the folder or file you want to share.
  4. Tap Manage Shared Folder or Manage Shared File.
  5. Tap Add Participant and choose a method for sending the link.
  6. Enter any other requested information. Send or post the invitation.

Share a folder or file with more people using a link

With access to a shared folder or file set to “Anyone with the link,” anyone who has the link can share it with others.

  1. Start the Files app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Shared at the top of the screen.
  3. Touch and hold the folder or file you want to share.
  4. Tap Manage Shared Folder or Manage Shared File. Then tap Copy Link.
  5. Choose a method for sending the link, enter any other requested information, and send or post the invitation.

Change access and permission settings for everyone

You can change the access of a shared folder or file you own at any time, and the change affects everyone you’ve shared the link with.

  1. Start the Files app on your iPad.
  2. Touch and hold the folder or file whose permissions you want to change.
  3. Tap Manage Shared Folder or Manage Shared File, then tap Sharing Options.
  4. Change either or both of the options.
    • Access option: When you change the access option from Anyone with the link to People you choose, the original link no longer works for anyone, and only people who receive a new invitation from you can open the folder or file.
    • Permission option: When you change the permission option, everyone who has the file open when you change the permission sees an alert. New settings take effect when the alert is dismissed.

Change access and permission settings for one person

For a shared folder or file you own with access set to “People you choose,” one person’s permission can change without affecting others’ permissions, and you can also remove the person’s access.

  1. Start the Files app on your iPad.
  2. Touch and hold the folder or file whose permissions you want to change.
  3. Tap Manage Shared Folder or Manage Shared File.
  4. Tap the person’s name, then select an option.

Stop sharing a folder or file

If you’re the owner of a shared folder or file, you can stop sharing it.

  1. Start the Files app on your iPad.
  2. Open the location of the folder or file you want to stop sharing.
  3. Touch and hold the folder or file. Tap Manage Shared Folder or Manage Shared File.
  4. Tap Stop Sharing.

When you stop sharing a file, anyone who has it open sees an alert. Dismissing the alert closes the item, removes the file from the person’s iCloud Drive, and stops the link from working. If you later share the item again with access set to “Anyone with the link,” the original link works. With “People you choose,” the original link works again, but only for the people you reinvite to share the item.

See also

Tags: Files, iCloud