After you create an Apple Music profile, you can share music with your friends. You can allow anyone to follow you or just those you choose, and block others.
Your followers see the playlists you create by default, though you can choose not to share some of them, hide music from your followers, and share a playlist with people who don’t follow you. You can share your profile with others, too.
Choose music to share with your followers
Your followers see the playlists you create by default. But you can choose to keep some playlists unshared.
- Start the Music app on your iPad.
- Tap the Show Sidebar button. Then tap your name at the bottom of the sidebar.
- Tap Music Profile, tap Edit, and then turn Shared Playlists on or off.
To share playlists with people who don’t follow you, touch and hold a playlist, then tap Share Playlist.
Note: When you change music you share (say, you edit or stop sharing a playlist), those changes are reflected on your followers’ devices.
Hide music from your followers
- Start the Music app on your iPad.
- Tap the Show Sidebar button. Then tap your name at the bottom of the sidebar.
- Tap Music Profile.
- Touch and hold the playlist or album (below Listening To).
- Tap Hide from Profile.
The listening history for this item won’t appear in your profile or be visible to the people who follow you. If you don’t want your followers to see any of the music you listen to, tap Edit on the profile screen, then turn off Listening To at the bottom of the screen.
Note: It can take up to 10 minutes before your followers stop seeing music you hide.
If you’d rather keep all the music you play hidden from your followers on Apple Music, read our guide, Tell Apple Music to ignore your listening habits.
Share your profile
You can share your profile using email, Messages, or another app you choose.
- Start the Music app on your iPad.
- Tap the Show Sidebar button. Then tap your name at the bottom of the sidebar.
- Tap Music Profile.
- Tap the More button and tap Share. Then choose a sharing option.
You can also share the profile of anyone you follow, or who follows you.
Choose who you share music with
- Start the Music app on your iPad.
- Tap the Show Sidebar button. Then tap your name at the bottom of the sidebar.
- Tap Music Profile, tap Edit, and tap People You Approve to be followed only by people you choose. (Everyone includes all Apple Music subscribers who have a profile.)
For additional privacy settings, see Hide music from your followers.
Respond to follow requests
If someone asks to follow you, you can accept or decline the request. You only receive requests if you select People You Approve in your profile. For details, see Choose who you share music with.
- Start the Music app on your iPad.
- Tap the Show Sidebar button. Then tap your name at the bottom of the sidebar.
- Tap Follow Requests, then accept or decline the requests.
You may receive follow requests in other ways—as a link in an email or a text message, for example. To accept, tap the link.
Turn on or off notifications about your friends’ activity
- Start the Music app on your iPad.
- Tap the Show Sidebar button. Then tap your name at the bottom of the sidebar.
-
Tap Notifications and turn on (or off) Friend Activity.
When the option is on, you get notified when friends follow you and add your playlists.
Prevent users from following you
- Start the Music app on your iPad.
- Tap the Show Sidebar button. Then tap your name at the bottom of the sidebar.
-
Tap Music Profile and touch and hold a profile picture. Then choose Block.
People you block won’t see your music or be able to find your profile. They can still play your shared playlists if they added them to their library.
Report a concern
If you have a concern about a follower, touch and hold their profile picture, then tap Report a Concern.
See also










