Shared password groups are an easy and secure way to share passwords, passkeys, and Sign in with Apple credentials with your family and trusted contacts. Anyone in the group can add passwords, passkeys, and Sign in with Apple credentials.
When a shared credential changes, it changes on everyone’s device. You can create a group, manage it, and respond to an invitation to join one.
Here’s how to share passwords and passkeys with people you trust on iPhone.
Create a group
Note: You need to be signed in to your Apple Account to create a shared password group.
- Open the Passwords app on your iPhone.
- Tap the New Shared Group button.
- Enter a name for the group, then tap Add People.
- Type the name, email address, or phone number of the person or people you want to add and tap Add. Note: To add someone to your group, they must be in your contacts and have an iPhone, iPad, or Mac with iOS 17, iPadOS 17, macOS 14, or later. If they can be added to the group, their contact information appears in blue. If it appears in gray, their iPhone, iPad, or Mac might not support shared password groups.
- Tap the Create button.
- Select the passwords you want to share with the group. Tap Move.
If you don’t want to share any passwords yet, tap the Close button. You can notify the people you’ve invited to the group, and they can also see the invitation in Passwords > Group Invitations. Your shared passwords are saved in iCloud Keychain, and you can use them like any other saved password. You receive a notification whenever anyone else is invited to the group.
Manage a group
If you created a group, only you can add or remove other members, or delete it. Other members don’t have these options, but they can leave at any time.
- Open the Passwords app on your iPhone.
- Tap the name of your group. You can add or remove other members, or delete the group.
- Do any of the following:
- Add a member to the group: Tap your name and then tap Add People.
- Remove a member from the group: Tap the member’s name, then tap Remove From Group.
- Remove a shared password or passkey from the group: Tap Select and select the shared account with the shared password or passkey. Then tap the Delete button.
- Delete the group: Tap your name and tap Delete Group.
- When you’re finished making changes, tap the Done button.
Respond to an invitation to join a group
- Open the Passwords app on your iPhone.
- Tap the invitation and then tap Accept to join the group. You can also decline the invitation.
Important: Don’t accept an invitation if you don’t recognize the sender.










