Got a tip for us?

How to share photos and videos on iPhone

You can share photos and videos in Mail or Messages, or other apps you install. You can also use AirDrop to instantly share photos with anyone nearby on an iPhone, iPad, Mac, or Apple Vision Pro.

You can adjust the information you share about a photo or video, and even share photos and videos by bringing one iPhone close to another.

Here’s how to share photos and videos on iPhone.

Note: Sharing a photo or video includes sharing its associated metadata, such as date and time, location, device, and captions.

Share photos and videos

  1. Start the Photos app on your iPhone.
  2. Do any of the following:

    • Share a single photo or video: Open the photo or video and tap the Share button. Then choose a sharing option such as Mail, Messages, or AirDrop.

      A selected photo is displayed in the top half of the iPhone screen, with a row of share options below. Additional options appear below those, including Copy Photo, Add to Shared Album, Add to Album, and Use as Wallpaper.

    • Share multiple photos or videos: While viewing a screen with multiple thumbnails, tap Select. Then tap the thumbnails of the photos and videos you want to share. Tap the Share button, then choose a sharing option such as Mail, Messages, or AirDrop.

      The iPhone screen is filled with a grid of photos, some of which are selected. At the bottom of the screen are the Share and Delete buttons.

      Tip: If you’re sharing multiple items, tap Show Selected to view or modify your selections before you share.

    • Share all the photos in a collection: While viewing a collection of photos, tap Select. Then tap Select All. Tap the Share button. Then choose a sharing option such as Mail, Messages, or AirDrop.

      On iPhone, a collection is open in the Photos app, and all of the photos are selected.

You can also create a shared album and share photos and videos there with a group of friends and family, who can contribute to the album as well.

Note: Your service provider sets the size limit of attachments. On devices or services that don’t support Live Photos, a Live Photo goes out as a still photo.

Adjust the information you share about a photo or video

Before you share a photo or video, you can adjust its format, its file type, and the information shared with it.

  1. Start the Photos app on your iPhone.
  2. Open a photo or video, tap the Share button, tap Options, and then do any of the following:
    • Don’t share keywords: Turn off Keywords.
    • Adjust the file format: Tap Automatic for the best file format for the destination, tap Current to prevent a file format conversion, or tap Most Compatible and files may convert to JPEG or MOV.
    • Send all photo data: Turn on All Photos Data to share the original file with edit history and metadata; the recipient can view and modify the current version (available with AirDrop only).
  3. Tap the Close button.

Share photos and videos by bringing one iPhone close to another

To transfer photos and videos from one iPhone to another, bring the two devices close together.

  1. Make sure each iPhone is turned on, unlocked, and has AirDrop turned on.
  2. On the iPhone with the items you want to share, open the Photos app and then do one of the following:
    • Share a single photo or video: Open the photo or video you want to share and keep it on the screen.
    • Share multiple photos or videos: Tap Select and tap multiple photos or videos to share from your library.
  3. Bring the devices together and then tap Share.

The recipient’s Photos library gets the shared items.

Save or share a photo or video you receive

You can save photos that others share with you from other apps.

Depending on the app, tap the Save button next to the image, or touch and hold the photo or video, then tap the Save button.

You can see your saved photos and videos in your photo library.

Note: Photos and videos people share with you in the Messages app get saved in your photo library automatically. If you’d rather turn off this feature, go to the Settings app , tap Apps, and then tap Messages. Tap Shared with You and turn off Photos.

Tag: Photos