Got a tip for us?

How to share your location in Messages on iPhone

You can let others know where you are, or find out where they are, by using location sharing.

Shared in a conversation, your location updates in real time, and you decide how long to share it. You can also send a pinned location, ask for someone else’s location, or meet up with a friend, and stop sharing your location at any time.

Here’s how to share your location in Messages on iPhone.

A Messages conversation with a dropped pin, a location request, and a location about to be sent.

Share and update your location automatically

Share your location in a Messages conversation, and it keeps updating in real time.

  1. Open the Messages app on your iPhone.
  2. In a conversation, tap the Add button.
  3. Tap Location and tap Share.
  4. Decide how long you want to share your location.

    Tap Indefinitely if you want to share your location until you manually stop sharing it.

  5. Tap the Send button to send your location. (Or tap the Remove App from Message button if you change your mind.)

Quick tip: If somebody asks where you are, you can share your location quickly by tapping Current Location (above the keyboard).

If you share your location to a group, then add other people to it, you can reshare your location so everyone can see where you are.

To share your location in an SMS conversation, use a pinned location instead.

Send a pinned location

  1. Open the Messages app on your iPhone.
  2. In a conversation, tap the Add button. Then tap Location.
  3. Tap the Map Pin button in the top left of the map and drag the map until the pin is in the right place.
  4. Tap Send Pin, then tap the Send button to send your pin.

Pinned locations don’t update as you move.

Ask for someone else’s location

  1. Open the Messages app on your iPhone.
  2. In a conversation with one other person, do one of the following:
    • Tap the Add button, tap Location, then tap Request.
    • Send a message that ends with the question, “Where are you?” then tap Request Location (above the keyboard).
  3. Tap the Send button to send your request.

After someone shares their location with you, their location appears below their name at the top of the conversation. Tap their name to see where they are on a map. Tap the map to enlarge it.

If you both use an iPhone 15 model or later and are near the person you’re looking for, you can use Find My to get precise directions to their location.

Meet up with a friend

Once you’re near one another, you and a friend can use Find My to get precise directions to their location, as long as you both have a supported model.

Stop sharing your location

  1. Open the Messages app on your iPhone.
  2. Open the conversation with someone you’re sharing your location with and then tap the contact icon at the top of the conversation.
  3. Tap Stop Sharing My Location.

A map no longer appears in the previous bubble in the conversation.

Note: Finding people with location sharing isn’t available in all countries or regions. If you set up location sharing and others still can’t see your location, make sure you’ve allowed access. Go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Location Services > Find My, then choose an option.