Apple’s iCloud Drive is integrated into macOS, iOS, and iPadOS, and lets you use your free or paid iCloud space to store and share files.
A shared folder requires an Apple Account to access, and the contents are all accessible to whomever is invited or has the link, depending on the permissions you set. Up to 100 people can be invited to a folder. Only folders you create can be shared—not ones that Apple manages or that are created for apps. Storage space is occupied only in the sharing party’s iCloud account, which makes it handy if other people don’t have large iCloud storage subscriptions.
iCloud Drive appears in macOS by default as an item in the Finder window sidebar. You can select it there, or you can choose Go > iCloud Drive or press ⌘-Shift-I. On an iPhone or iPad, use the Files app.
With Advanced Data Protection enabled, iCloud data is secured end-to-end among your devices. It’s also E2EE secured with devices of anyone with whom you share if you all have ADP enabled.
Share a file or folder in iCloud Drive
- Select the items to share. On a Mac, Control-click or right-click any file or folder stored in iCloud Drive, or select several and Control-click one of them, then choose Share from the contextual menu. On an iPhone or iPad, touch and hold a file or folder and choose Share; or tap the More button, choose Select, tap the button beside each item, and tap the Share button.
- A share popover appears. Choose Send Copy or Share a Link from its pop-up menu. Send Copy sends a download link and has no further options. Apple renamed several of these labels in iOS 27, iPadOS 27 and macOS 27 Golden Gate; the functions are unchanged, and earlier releases call this Collaborate.
- If you choose Share a Link, set the permissions by clicking or tapping the text below that label:
- Under Who Can Access, choose “People you choose” to limit access, or “Anyone with the link” to open it up. Earlier releases call the first option “Only invited people”.
- From Permissions, choose “Can edit” for read and write access, or “Can view or download” for read-only. Earlier releases call these “Can make changes” and “View only”.
- Enable or disable “Allow access requests”, called “Allow others to invite” in earlier releases.
- Select people or groups from recent interactions in Messages and elsewhere, or click one of the options, like Mail or AirDrop, to share the link.
- Complete the process in the dialog, sheet, or app prompt that appears. If you copy a link in the 27 releases, you are warned that sharing with a group means approving access for each member; you can proceed, or choose Allow Anyone with the Link instead.
Once shared, the item is marked in the Finder or the Files app:
- In macOS, you can opt to show a Shared By column in the Finder. It may be enabled in some iCloud Drive views. If not, and you want to turn it on, choose View > Show View Options and check Shared By. With that column active, you see Me for you or the name of the sharing party for files or folders shared by others. All files that aren’t shared show Not Shared, which feels like overkill.
- In macOS with the Shared By column disabled and in iOS/iPadOS, you see a label next to a file in the Finder or next to or beneath it in the Files app that reads Shared by Me if just a link is used or an invitation hasn’t yet been opened. The label displays With Person or People when an invitation is accepted. The last person to modify may appear instead, such as Modified by Dave Johnson.
To make changes, the easiest way to access these shared items is via the Shared view. On an iPhone or iPad, tap the Shared button in Files; on a Mac, choose Go > Shared in the Finder (⌘-Shift-S). Select the items as above either in the Shared view or by choosing the same set of original items. Touch and hold on an iPhone or iPad or Control-click/right-click to reveal the Manage Shared Folder item.
Choose Manage Shared Folder to reveal a dialog that shows the sharing details. You can see with whom the item is shared, and you can remove and add members (if you have permission), change permissions, or change invitation parameters. If and when you’re ready to stop sharing, click or tap Stop Sharing.
iCloud.com allows similar options for sharing files, although the sequence is a little different and options are far more limited:
- Log in to iCloud.com and click iCloud Drive.
- Select a single file or folder and then click the Share File or Folder button. Email and Copy Link destinations are available.
- Click Share Options to access permissions that are identical with those found on an iPhone, iPad, or Mac.
- When you’ve made your choices, click Share.
Dropbox
Dropbox is an exceedingly popular service for simple syncing across devices that offers several different ways to share files with strong controls on access. It has integrated macOS support, as well as full-featured apps for iOS/iPadOS and other major platforms, and a sophisticated web app.
On a Mac, Dropbox uses Apple’s framework for cloud-storage providers to add icons to the right of files and folders in the Finder in its folder. The Dropbox folder is the only one that’s synced, and it’s located by default in your home folder. Files and folders may be online only or online and stored locally.
Some features require a paid Dropbox subscription.
Control-click or right-click a single file or folder inside the Dropbox folder on a Mac or tap the More button to the right of a file or folder in the Dropbox app for iPhone/iPad. You can now access several options by choosing:
- Share: This opens a dialog or sheet with extensive options to let people have access to a file or folder. You can invite people, create publicly available or password-protected links for sharing, and set an end-date for access. Use this option for sharing items that you want people to have ongoing access to, particularly for folders that you might optionally want to let people drop items into or modify. (Shared folders count against other people’s Dropbox storage limits.)
- Transfer a Copy: Dropbox lets you send files without providing any access to your Dropbox space. The transfer can be password protected and have an expiration date. On a Mac, you use the contextual menu; in the iPhone/iPad app, you start in the files view and tap the plus button, then select files to transfer.
- Copy Dropbox Link: Choosing this on a Mac (or via the Share > Copy link pathway on an iPhone/iPad) creates a public link that anyone who has it can use to download the particular item. For certain kinds of files, like images and PDFs, the link allows viewing inline on a website, too.
Google Drive and OneDrive
Two other major firms’ apps don’t offer file-level Finder integration, but can sync files automatically and provide Mac access via a web app. Both also have iPhone/iPad apps.
The advantage of both is that you might already have paid for storage:
- Google Drive: Google Drive provides access to the 15 GB of free storage available for all Google individual accounts or to the larger pool of paid Google One tiers that start at 100 GB for $19.99 per year. Business accounts include a higher starting storage allocation. Google allows public and invitation-based links with varying permission, but doesn’t offer setting an expiration date.
- Microsoft OneDrive with Microsoft 365: Anyone can get 5 GB of file storage (plus 15 GB of email storage) in Microsoft OneDrive by setting up a free Microsoft 365 account. For $1.99 a month or $19.99 a year, you can upgrade to Microsoft 365 Basic with 100 GB each for files and email. At $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year (one person) or $12.99 a month or $12.99 a year (up to six people in a family), Microsoft 365 Personal offers 1 TB of file storage and 100 GB of email per person. The Personal plan also adds access to desktop Microsoft apps. OneDrive’s sharing options are comparable to those of Dropbox, with options for sending invitations, creating a public link, and setting an expiration date for the link.







