During a one-to-one FaceTime video or audio call, you can remotely control someone else’s screen or allow a trusted person to remotely control yours. The person controlling the screen can help with an issue or demonstrate how to use an app.
You stay in charge, too. You can accept or decline a remote control request, and stop remote control at any time.
Here’s how to request or give remote control in a FaceTime call on iPhone.
Note: Remote control isn’t currently available in the European Union.
Request remote control
You can ask to control an iPhone screen that’s being shared with you.
Note: You and the other participant both need iOS 18 or later.
- Start the FaceTime app on your iPhone.
- Tap the window showing the shared screen, then tap the Remote Control button.
If the other participant accepts your request, you can tap or swipe to interact with the shared screen. You can also use the onscreen keyboard within apps.
Accept a remote control request
To remotely control your screen, a participant needs to be in your contacts and on an iPhone or iPad with iOS 18, iPadOS 18, or later. Additional restrictions may apply to remote control requests to help protect your data and privacy.
When you receive a remote control request notification in the FaceTime app on your iPhone, tap Allow.
WARNING: The person remotely controlling the screen can perform tasks on your iPhone such as opening and closing apps, changing settings, deleting items, or sending messages. Only approve remote control requests from people you trust.
Tasks like erasing your device, making payments, or changing your Apple Account or Face ID settings may be off-limits to the person remotely controlling the screen. Face ID and Touch ID don’t work during a remote control session.
You can still tap, swipe, or type while your screen is remotely controlled—your actions take priority over remote actions.
Decline a remote control request
When you receive a remote control request notification in the FaceTime app on your iPhone, tap Don’t Allow. Screen sharing continues, and the other participant can still tap, draw, or write on your screen to highlight important areas.
Stop remote control
At any time, you can end remote control in one of these ways:
- If you’re allowing someone to control your screen: Tap Stop at the bottom of the screen sharing window.
- If you’re controlling someone’s screen: Tap the Remote Control button at the bottom of the screen sharing window.
Ending a FaceTime call ends remote control and screen sharing, too.










