You can return your iPad settings to their defaults without erasing your content. If you want to save your settings, back up iPad before resetting it, so you can restore your previous settings from a backup if resetting doesn’t solve a problem.
Reset All Settings removes or resets things like network settings, the keyboard dictionary, location and privacy settings, and Apple Pay cards, but no data or media are deleted. You can also reset just your network settings, or erase all content and settings.
- Open the Settings app on your iPad.
-
Tap General, tap Transfer or Reset iPad, and then tap Reset.
WARNING: If you choose the Erase All Content and Settings option, all your content is removed. See Erase iPad.
-
Choose an option:
- Reset All Settings: All settings—including network settings, the keyboard dictionary, location settings, privacy settings, and Apple Pay cards—are removed or reset to their defaults. No data or media are deleted.
-
Reset Network Settings: All network settings are removed. In addition, the device name assigned in Settings > General > About is reset to iPad, and manually trusted certificates (such as for websites) are changed to untrusted.
Cellular data roaming may also be turned off. (See View or change cellular data settings on iPad (Wi-Fi + Cellular models).)
When you reset network settings, previously used networks and VPN settings that weren’t installed by a configuration profile or mobile device management (MDM) are removed. Wi-Fi is turned off and then back on, disconnecting you from any network you’re on. The Wi-Fi and Ask to Join Networks settings remain turned on.
To remove VPN settings installed by a configuration profile, go to Settings > General > VPN & Device Management, select the configuration profile, then tap Remove Profile. This also removes other settings and accounts provided by the profile. See Install or remove configuration profiles.
To remove network settings installed by MDM, go to Settings > General > VPN & Device Management, select the management, then tap Remove Management. This also removes other settings and certificates provided by MDM.
- Delete All eSIMs (Wi-Fi + Cellular models): All eSIMs stored on your iPad are deleted. You will need to set up a new eSIM or physical SIM card to connect to a cellular network. See Set up cellular service on iPad (Wi-Fi + Cellular models).
- Reset Keyboard Dictionary: You add words to the keyboard dictionary by rejecting words iPad suggests as you type. Resetting the keyboard dictionary erases only the words you’ve added.
- Reset Handwriting Style: Resets custom handwriting preferences to their defaults.
- Reset Home Screen Layout: Returns the built-in apps to their original layout on the Home Screen.
- Reset Location & Privacy: Resets the location services and privacy settings to their defaults.
To completely erase your iPad, read our guide, Erase iPad using Settings. And if you need to use a computer to erase your iPad, see our article, Erase iPad using your Mac or Windows device.










