Got a tip for us?

How to add or remove a friend in Find My on iPhone

In the Find My app, after you share your location with a friend, you can ask to see their location on a map. Once they receive and accept your request, you can see their location. You can also remove a friend, and when you do, that person is removed from your People list.

Ask to see a friend’s location

  1. Start the Find My app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap People and then tap the name of the person whose location you want to see.

    If you don’t see a person in the list, make sure you’re sharing your location with them.

  3. Tap Ask To Follow Location.

You can see their location as soon as your friend receives and accepts your request.

Note: If your friend is in the People list but you can’t see their location on the map, ask them to check that they’re sharing their location. Location Services also needs to be turned on in Settings > Privacy & Security > Location Services > Find My.

Remove a friend

When you remove a friend, you’re also removed from their People list, and that person is removed from yours.

  1. Start the Find My app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap People, tap the name of the person you want to remove, and tap the More button.
  3. Tap Remove.
Tag: Find My