Got a tip for us?

How to contribute to a shared album on iPad

You can add and delete photos and videos in a shared album. You can also save photos and videos from a shared album to your photo library.

When you add new photos, everyone you share the album with is notified automatically, and everyone can react with emoji and comments. Those comments and reactions are visible to all participants, and you can view shared album activity, too.

Here’s how to contribute to a shared album on iPad.

Add photos and videos to a shared album

  1. Start the Photos app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Collections.
  3. Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
  4. Tap the More button and then tap Add Photos.
  5. Select the photos and videos you want to add, then tap the Done button.

When you add new photos, the people you share the album with are automatically notified.

Comment and react to shared album content

You can react to content in a shared album with emoji and comments that all participants can see.

  1. Start the Photos app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Collections.
  3. Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
  4. Tap a photo or video and then tap the Reactions button to react with an emoji, or tap the Comment Lines button to enter a comment.

To delete a comment, touch and hold it, then tap Delete. You can delete only your own comments, unless you’re the album organizer, who can delete any comment.

View shared album activity

  1. Start the Photos app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Collections.
  3. Tap Shared Albums and tap Activity.
  4. The latest contributions to your shared albums are shown here.

    Tap the Updates button to see a detailed feed of all activity in your shared albums.

Tap the Reactions button or the Comment Lines button below a contribution to leave a reaction or comment. Tap the More button to save content someone else contributed or to delete content that you contributed.

To view activity for a specific shared album, tap the album, then tap the Conversation button.

Filter shared album content

  1. Start the Photos app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Collections.
  3. Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
  4. Tap the Sort and Filter button, tap Media Types or Shared By, and tap a filter option.

To remove the filter, tap the Sort and Filter button, then tap Remove Filter.

Delete photos, videos, and comments from a shared album

An organizer can delete any photos, videos, or comments in a shared album, while participants can’t delete anything but the content they personally added. Anything deleted disappears automatically from the shared album on all your devices and on every participant’s devices.

  1. Start the Photos app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Collections.
  3. Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
  4. Do either of the following:
    • Delete multiple items: Tap Select, tap the items to delete and tap the Delete button. Then tap Delete from All Devices.
    • Delete a single item: Tap the photo or video, tap the Delete button, and then tap Delete from All Devices.

To delete a comment, touch and hold it, then tap Delete. You can only delete your own comments unless you’re the album organizer, who can delete any comment.

Save photos and videos from a shared album to your library

  1. Start the Photos app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Collections.
  3. Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
  4. Tap the More button. Then tap Save All Shared Items or Save Remaining Items.

To save a single photo or video, tap the image to open it, then tap the Save button.

See also

Tag: Photos