Got a tip for us?

How to delete or recover items in Reminders on iPhone

You can permanently delete items from your Reminders lists. If you accidentally delete an item, you can recover it within 30 days from the Recently Deleted list.

Items left in Recently Deleted are removed automatically and permanently after 30 days. A recovered item moves to the default list, while a permanently deleted item is removed immediately from all your devices.

Here’s how to delete or recover items in Reminders on iPhone.

Delete an item

  1. Open the Reminders app on your iPhone.
  2. While viewing a list, swipe left on an item. Tap Delete.

To undo immediately, tap with three fingers or shake your iPhone.

Recover or permanently delete recently deleted items

  1. Open the Reminders app on your iPhone.
  2. In the list view, tap Recently Deleted.
  3. Do one of the following:
    • Recover an item: Tap the item, then tap Recover. The item moves to the default list.
    • Permanently delete an item: Swipe left on the item, tap Delete, and tap Delete again. The item is removed immediately from all your devices.

After 30 days, items left in Recently Deleted are permanently removed automatically.