Use the Find My app to let a friend know when your location changes. You can notify your friend when you arrive at or leave a location, and with a larger radius, they get notified when you’re near the location rather than right at it.
You can see a list of the people notified when your location changes, and stop notifying friends at any time. You can also see all the notifications about you.
Here’s how to notify a friend when your location changes in Find My on iPad.
You can also get a notification when your friend’s location changes. See Get notified when a friend’s location changes in Find My on iPad.
Notify a friend when your location changes
- Open the Find My app on your iPad.
- Tap People at the bottom-left side of the screen and then tap the name of the person you want to notify.
- Below Notify [your friend’s name], tap Add Location Alert.
- Choose whether you want to notify your friend when you arrive at or leave a location.
-
Choose a location, or tap New Location to create a new location and set a location radius.
With a larger radius, your friend is notified when you’re near the location instead of right at the location.
- Choose whether you want your friend to be notified only once or every time.
- Tap the Done button.
At any time, you can stop notifying friends when your location changes. Check out our guide, Change or turn off a notification you set.
See all notifications about you
- Open the Find My app on your iPad.
-
Tap Me at the bottom-left side of the screen.
A list of people who are notified when your location changes appears below Alerts on My Location.
Note: If you don’t see the Alerts on My Location section, you aren’t notifying any friends when your location changes.
- Tap a name to see more details.
Turn off notifications about you
You can turn off any location notification about you, both the notifications you set and the notifications your friends create.
- Open the Find My app on your iPad.
-
Tap Me at the bottom-left side of the screen.
Below Notifications About You, you see a list of people who are notified when your location changes.
If you don’t see the Notifications About You section, you aren’t notifying any friends when your location changes.
- Select a name and tap a notification.
- Tap Delete Notification and tap Delete Notification again.
See also










