Got a tip for us?

How to share music with friends on iPhone

After you create an Apple Music profile, you can share music with your friends. You can allow anyone to follow you or just those you choose, and block others.

Your followers see the playlists you create unless you choose otherwise, and you can hide music from your followers. You can also share your profile, respond to follow requests, and turn on or off notifications about your friends’ activity in Apple Music.

Choose music to share with your followers

By default, the playlists you create are visible to your followers, but you can choose not to share some playlists.

  1. Open the Music app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the My Account button or your profile picture.
  3. Tap Music Profile, tap Edit, and then turn Shared Playlists on or off.

To share playlists with people who don’t follow you, touch and hold a playlist, then tap Share Playlist.

Note: Your followers’ devices reflect any changes you make to music you share, like when you edit or stop sharing a playlist.

Hide music from your followers

  1. Open the Music app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the My Account button or your profile picture.
  3. Tap Music Profile and touch and hold the playlist or album (below Listening To).
  4. Tap Hide from Profile.

The listening history for this item won’t appear in your profile or be visible to the people who follow you. If you don’t want your followers to see any of the music you listen to, tap Edit on the profile screen, then turn off Listening To at the bottom of the screen.

Note: Music you hide might stay visible to your followers for up to 10 minutes.

Share your profile

You can share your profile using email, Messages, or another app you choose.

  1. Open the Music app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the My Account button or your profile picture.
  3. Tap Music Profile, tap the More button, tap Share, and choose a sharing option.

You can also share the profile of anyone you follow, or who follows you.

Choose who you share music with

  1. Open the Music app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the My Account button or your profile picture.
  3. Tap Music Profile, tap Edit, and tap People You Approve to be followed only by people you choose. (Everyone includes all Apple Music subscribers who have a profile.)

Respond to follow requests

When someone asks to follow you, you can accept or decline the request. You’ll only get requests if you’ve selected People You Approve in your profile.

  1. Open the Music app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the My Account button or your profile picture.
  3. Tap Follow Requests, then accept or decline the requests.

You may receive follow requests in other ways—as a link in an email or a text message, for example. To accept, tap the link.

Turn on or off notifications about your friends’ activity

  1. Open the Music app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the My Account button or your profile picture.
  3. Tap Notifications and turn on (or off) Friend Activity.

With the option turned on, you get a notification when friends follow you and add your playlists.

Prevent users from following you

  1. Open the Music app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the My Account button or your profile picture.
  3. Tap Music Profile and touch and hold a profile picture. Then choose Block.

People you block won’t see your music, and they can’t find your profile. They’ll still be able to play your shared playlists if they added them to their library.

Report a concern

If you have a concern about a follower, touch and hold their profile picture, then tap Report a Concern.

Tag: Music