Got a tip for us?

How to work with templates in Reminders on iPhone

In the Reminders app, you can save a list as a template to reuse it for routines, packing lists, and more. You can create a link to publish and share a template with others, or download templates that others have shared.

After you make a template from a list, changes to that list don’t affect the template, and changes to a template don’t affect lists you already created from it. You can make a new list from a template, and edit or delete a template, too.

Save a list as a template

  1. Open the Reminders app on your iPhone.
  2. When viewing a list, tap the More button and tap Save as Template.
  3. Enter a name for the template.
  4. Turn on or off Include Completed Reminders and tap the Done button.

Once a list becomes a template, changes you make to that list won’t affect the template.

Make a new list from a template

  1. Open the Reminders app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the More button and tap Templates. Tap the name of a template.
  3. Enter a name for the list and then tap Create.

Edit or delete a template

Any changes you make to a template don’t affect lists previously created from the template.

  1. Open the Reminders app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the More button, tap Templates, and tap the Edit button next to the template you want to manage.
  3. Choose one of the following:
    • Edit Template: Add, edit, or delete any items in the template. You can also change the name, color, and icon for the template.
    • Delete Template: Remove the template.

Share a template

Sharing a template gives Apple servers access, so anyone with the link can download a copy of it on a device running iOS 16, iPadOS 16, macOS 13, or later. You decide whether the shared template keeps any dates, tags, or locations, but images are removed.

  1. Open the Reminders app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the More button, tap Templates, and tap the Edit button next to the template you want to share.
  3. Tap Share Template and choose a method for sharing.

To manage a shared template, tap the More button, tap Templates, tap the Edit button, then tap Manage Link. If you make changes to the template after sharing, you can update the shared version. Anyone who downloaded the previous version needs to download the template again to get the updates. If you stop sharing a template, this doesn’t affect anyone who has already downloaded the template.