Got a tip for us?

Safety Check

You can use Safety Check on iPhone to quickly stop sharing your device access and personal information with others. It’s built for an emergency.

Safety Check helps you quickly change your passcode and Apple Account password, stop sharing your location with Find My, restrict Messages and FaceTime to the device in your hand, and more, all from Emergency Reset. And beyond emergencies, Safety Check lets you periodically review and update what you share with people, apps, and devices.

  1. Open Settings, tap Privacy & Security, and then tap Safety Check on your iPhone.
  2. Tap Emergency Reset and tap Start Emergency Reset. Follow the onscreen instructions.

You can also use Safety Check to review the information you share with people, apps, and devices, and update it periodically.

Important: You might also be sharing information that Safety Check can’t review or change—for example, accounts and passwords, social media sharing, and information shared from another device.

Use Safety Check to periodically review and update information you share with people, apps, and devices.

From Safety Check, you can stop sharing your location with others in Find My, remove others’ access to shared content like Photos, Notes, and Calendar, reset system privacy permissions for apps, restrict Messages and FaceTime to the device in your hand, and more. It’s all in one place, in Privacy & Security settings. From there, you just follow the onscreen instructions.

  1. Open Settings, tap Privacy & Security, and then tap Safety Check.
  2. Tap Manage Sharing & Access, tap Continue, and then follow the onscreen instructions.

You might also be sharing information that Safety Check can’t review or change—for example, accounts and passwords, social media sharing, and information shared from another device.

Important: In an emergency, you can also use Safety Check to quickly reset access to your device and personal information. Go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Safety Check, tap Emergency Reset, tap Start Emergency Reset, then follow the onscreen instructions.