Got a tip for us?

How to share lists and collaborate in Reminders on iPhone

In the Reminders app, you can use iCloud to share to-do lists. You can collaborate and assign tasks to other people who also use iCloud.

People who accept the invitation can add and edit items, and everyone sees the changes. Once a list is shared, you can assign items in it to people, and turn notifications on or off for the shared list.

Here’s how to share lists and collaborate in Reminders on iPhone.

Note: With updated reminders in iCloud, all the Reminders features described in this guide are available. Some aren’t when you use other accounts.

Collaborate on a list using iCloud

People who use iCloud can work on a list with you once you share it. Anyone who accepts the invitation can add and edit items and mark items as completed, and all participants see everyone’s changes. To collaborate, everyone needs to be signed in to their Apple Account, with Reminders turned on in iCloud settings.

  1. Open the Reminders app on your iPhone.
  2. View the list you want to share. Then tap the Share button.

    A Reminders screen showing a grocery list with options for sharing at the bottom.

  3. By default, participants on the list can invite other people. To restrict sharing, tap People you invite can add others and then turn off Allow others to invite.
  4. Choose how to send your invitation (for example, using Messages or Mail).

If you send the invitation in Messages, you get activity updates in the Messages conversation when someone makes changes in the shared list. Tap the updates to go to the shared list.

Assign items in a shared list

You can assign a task to any person on the list, including yourself.

  1. Open the Reminders app on your iPhone.
  2. In the shared list, create or edit a reminder, then do either of the following:
    • Type @ followed by the person’s name or choose a person from the menu above the keyboard.
    • Tap the Person button, then choose a person.

Quick tip: Use the Assigned to Me Smart List to see all items assigned to you at a glance.

Turn notifications on or off for a shared list

  1. Open the Reminders app on your iPhone.
  2. In the shared list, tap the Collaborate button and tap Manage Shared List.
  3. Below Notify When, turn on or off any of the following:
    • Adding Items: Receive an alert when someone adds an item to the list.
    • Completing Items: Receive an alert when someone completes an item on the list.