Got a tip for us?

How to create shared albums in Photos on iPad

With Shared Albums, you can create albums to share with just the people you choose—and they can add their own photos, videos, and comments for everyone to see. If you set up a shared album, you can also rename or delete it.

You need to be signed in to your Apple Account on each device you use with Shared Albums. You can also join a shared album someone else created.

Before you begin

Make sure you’re signed in to your Apple Account on your iPad and any other devices you want to use with Shared Albums.

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPad.
  2. Tap your name and tap iCloud. Tap Photos.
  3. Turn on Shared Albums.

Create a shared album

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Collections, then tap Shared Albums.
  3. Tap the Add button, then do the following:

    • Add photos and videos to the album: Tap Add Photos, select the items you want to add, and then tap the Done button.
    • Name the album: Type a name in the Shared Album Name text field.
    • Set sharing permissions: Tap Sharing Options. Then select People You Choose or Anyone with the Link.

      Note: If you select People You Choose and the link is shared with someone you didn’t invite, they can request access to the album. You can grant or deny the request.

    • Allow the album to expire: Turn on Make Album Temporary to set the album to expire after 30 days.
  4. Tap the Done button.

For inviting people to join the shared album, read our guide, Add and remove people in a shared album.

Note: A shared album’s content uses the organizer’s iCloud storage space, but albums set to expire don’t use any iCloud storage.

Join a shared album

Select the link you received, then select Join. You may need to ask for access, provide your email, or sign in to your Apple Account.

If you join by email and want to save the album to your account, select Join, then sign in to your Apple Account.

To view pending invitations, tap Collections, then tap your Apple Account profile.

View shared albums

You can view all of your shared albums in one place.

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Collections.
  3. Tap Shared Albums to see all of your shared albums and tap an album to view it.

    Tip: Tap Activity to view updates to your shared albums, such as new photos, reactions, and comments. See View shared album activity.

Rename a shared album

The creator of a shared album can change its name.

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Collections.
  3. Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
  4. Tap the More button, then tap the album name.
  5. Enter a new name in the text field and then tap the Done button.

Delete or remove yourself from a shared album

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Collections.
  3. Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
  4. Tap the More button. Tap Delete Shared Album if you created the album, or tap Leave Shared Album if you’re a participant.

Any photos you’ve saved or downloaded from a shared album to your photo library remain there, even if the shared album is deleted or its creator stops sharing it. See our article, Contribute to a shared album on iPad.

See also

Tag: Photos