You can share images, links, and other content using the Messages app. When someone shares content with you, you can find it in a Shared with You section in apps like Photos, Music, and News.
You can share a recent photo or video right from a conversation, or share a message attachment with someone else. You can also copy, save, or print your attachment, and find all the content someone shared with you.
Share content with others
- Open the Messages app on your iPad.
-
In a conversation, do one of the following:
- Copy and paste an image or a link into your message.
- Tap the Add button, tap Photos to browse recent photos and videos, then tap to add.
-
Tap a message attachment, tap the Share button, then tap a contact or the Messages app icon.
Tip: When you tap the Share button, you can also copy, save, or print your attachment.
- Add a message (optional), then tap the Send button.
From another app (like Podcasts, News, or Music), select the content you want to share, tap the More button, tap Share, then choose Messages.
Find all the content someone shared with you
- Open the Messages app on your iPad.
- Open the conversation whose content you want to see.
- Tap the contact or group icon at the top of the conversation.
-
Swipe left, then tap Photos, Links, Documents, Locations, or Wallet.
If a category doesn’t appear, you didn’t receive anything of that type in this conversation.
Note: If the person who sent the content isn’t in your contacts, it won’t appear in Shared with You.
You can find a Shared with You section in Photos, Safari, Music, Podcasts, and other supported apps. If you don’t want items someone sends to you to appear in those other apps, tap the contact or group icon at the top of the conversation, tap Info, then turn off Shared with You.
Review and save photos or videos
Multiple photos or videos you receive at the same time are automatically grouped, with two to three items forming a collage and four or more forming a stack.
- Open the Messages app on your iPad.
- Do one of the following:
- Look inside a stack: Tap to open. Then swipe through a stack to view, reply, or interact with each photo or video individually.
- Save a photo or video: Tap the Save Photo button next to the photo or stack.
Pin shared content
If someone shares content that’s especially interesting, you can quickly pin it in Messages. This elevates it in the Shared with You section of supported apps, in Messages search, and in the conversation details (the info you see when you tap the contact or group icon at the top of the conversation).
- Open the Messages app on your iPad.
- Open the conversation with the content you want to pin.
- Touch and hold the message bubble containing the attachment. Tap Pin.
Note: Photos can be saved to your library, but not pinned.
Hide shared content
You can adjust your settings to hide an app’s Shared with You section.
- Open the Settings app on your iPad.
- Tap Apps, then tap Messages.
- Tap Shared with You. Turn off Automatic Sharing, or turn off Shared with You for a specific app.
Note: You can have your (or a family member’s) iPad receive warnings about sensitive content and warn you before it’s sent or received.
See also
- Take and edit photos or videos in Messages on iPad
- Share screens using Messages on iPad
- Collaborate on projects with Messages on iPad
- Delete messages and attachments in Messages on iPad










