You can let others know where you are, or find out where they are, by using location sharing in Messages.
Your location updates in real time right in the Messages conversation. You decide how long to share it, even indefinitely, and when somebody asks where you are, you can quickly share your current location. In an SMS conversation, you can send a pinned location instead.
Here’s how to share your location in Messages on iPad.
Share and update your location automatically
Share your location in a Messages conversation, and it updates in real time right there.
- Go to the Messages app on your iPad.
- In a conversation, tap the Add button.
- Tap Location and tap Share.
-
Decide how long you want to share your location.
To share your location until you manually stop sharing it, tap Indefinitely.
- Tap the Send button to send your location. (Or tap the Remove App from Message button if you change your mind.)
Quick tip: When somebody asks where you are, it’s quick to share your location by tapping Current Location (above the keyboard).
When you share your location to a group and later add other people to it, resharing your location lets everyone see where you are.
In an SMS conversation, a pinned location is the way to share your location.
Messages uses the Find My app when you share your location. Learn how to share your location and locate someone.
Send a pinned location
- Open the Messages app on your iPad.
- In a conversation, tap the Add button. Then tap Location.
- Tap the Map Pin button in the top left of the map and drag the map until the pin is in the right place.
- Tap Send Pin, then tap the Send button to send your pin.
Pinned locations don’t update as you move.
Ask for someone else’s location
- Open the Messages app on your iPad.
- In a conversation with one other person, do one of the following:
- Tap the Add button, tap Location, then tap Request.
- Send a message that ends with the question, “Where are you?” then tap Request Location (above the keyboard).
- Tap the Send button to send your request.
After someone shares their location with you, their location appears below their name at the top of the conversation. Tap their name to see where they are on a map. Tap the map to enlarge it.
Stop sharing your location
- Open the Messages app on your iPad.
- Open the conversation with someone you’re sharing your location with and then tap the contact icon at the top of the conversation.
- Tap Stop Sharing My Location.
In the conversation, the previous bubble no longer displays a map.
Note: Finding people with location sharing isn’t available in all countries or regions. If you set up location sharing and others still can’t see your location, make sure you allowed access. Go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Location Services > Find My, then choose an option. See Control the location information you share.
See also










