You can remove or delete some built-in apps from your iPad. If you remove an app from your Home Screen, it moves to App Library—it isn’t deleted—and you can still use it from there.
Deleting an app removes it and its data from your iPad, though any data stored in iCloud, like photos or documents, isn’t deleted. You can recover a deleted app later, too.
Here’s how to remove or delete apps from iPad.
To block an app to prevent its use, you can use Screen Time settings. See Block apps, app downloads, websites, and purchases.
If you want to limit access to an app without deleting it, see Lock or hide an app.
Remove an app from the Home Screen
- Go to the Home Screen.
- Touch and hold an app, tap Remove app, and tap Remove from Home Screen.
The app moves to App Library, where you can still use it. Read our article, Find and use your apps in App Library.
Delete an app from iPad
Deleting an app from your iPad removes both the app and its data.
- Touch and hold the app on the Home Screen or in App Library.
- Tap Remove App, then tap Delete App.
- Tap Delete to confirm.
If an app stores data in iCloud, like photos or documents you’ve saved through it, that data isn’t deleted when you delete the app. Available storage on your iPad may also take a moment to update afterward.
Note: Some Apple apps can be removed from the Home Screen but can’t be deleted from iPad. In the European Union, there may be other built-in apps you can delete.
Recover a deleted app
If it’s still available, you can reinstall any app you’ve previously downloaded from the App Store.
- Start the App Store app on your iPad.
- Tap the My Account button or your picture at the top right and tap Apps & Purchase History. Then tap Your Apps.
- If you’re part of a Family Sharing group, tap My Apps or choose a family member.
- Find the app you want to download (if it’s still available in the App Store) and tap the Redownload button.
See also










