Got a tip for us?

How to notify a friend when your location changes in Find My on iPhone

Use the Find My app to let a friend know when your location changes. You can also get a notification when your friend’s location changes.

You choose when your friend hears from you, for example when you arrive at or leave a location. You can also see all notifications about you, and turn them off whenever you want.

Here’s how to notify a friend when your location changes in Find My on iPhone.

Notify a friend when your location changes

  1. Start the Find My app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap People, tap the name of the person you want to notify, and then tap the More button.
  3. Below Notify [your friend’s name], tap Add Location Alert.
  4. Choose whether you want to notify your friend when you arrive at or leave a location.
  5. Choose a location, or tap New Location to create a new location and set a location radius.

    With a larger radius, your friend is notified when you’re near the location instead of right at the location.

  6. Choose whether you want your friend to be notified only once or every time.
  7. Tap the Done button.

At any time, you can stop notifying friends when your location changes.

See all notifications about you

  1. Start the Find My app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap Me.

    A list of people who are notified when your location changes appears below Alerts on My Location.

    Note: If you don’t see the Alerts on My Location section, you aren’t notifying any friends when your location changes.

  3. Tap a name to see more details.

Turn off notifications about you

You can turn off any location notification about you, including notifications you set and notifications your friends create.

  1. Start the Find My app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap Me.

    Below Notifications About You, you see a list of people who are notified when your location changes.

    If you don’t see the Notifications About You section, you aren’t notifying any friends when your location changes.

  3. Select a name and tap a notification.
  4. Tap Delete Notification and tap Delete Notification again.
Tag: Find My