Before you can use the Find My app to share your location with friends, you need to set up location sharing.
Once it’s set up, the device sharing your location appears next to Sharing From. You can share from another device instead, and set a label for your location, like Home or Work, to make it more meaningful. You’ll see that label next to your location, too.
Here’s how to share your location in Find My on iPad.
Note: If you set up location sharing and others still can’t see your location, make sure Location Services is on in Settings > Privacy & Security > Location Services > Find My. Location sharing isn’t available in all locations. See Control the location information you share.
Besides yourself, up to five users can share an AirTag or other item, for a total of six users per item.
Set up location sharing
- Start the Find My app on your iPad.
-
Tap Me at the bottom-left side of the screen and turn on Share My Location.
The device sharing your location appears next to Sharing From.
- If your iPad isn’t currently sharing your location, you can tap Use This iPad as My Location.
Note: To share your location from a different device, open Find My there and change your location to that device.
You can also change your location sharing settings in Settings > [your name] > Find My.
Set a label for your location
You can set a label for your current location to make it more meaningful (like Home or Work). When you tap Me, you see the label in addition to your location.
- Start the Find My app on your iPad.
- Tap Me at the bottom-left side of the screen. Tap Location Label.
-
Select a label.
To add a new label, tap Add Custom Label, enter a name, then tap the Done button.
Share your location with a friend
- Start the Find My app on your iPad.
- Tap People at the bottom-left side of the screen, tap the Add button, and then choose Share My Location.
- In the With field, enter the name of a friend you want to share your location with (or tap the Add Contact button, then select a contact).
-
Tap the Done button. Then choose how long you want to share your location.
Tip: Set a duration or an end time for your location sharing by choosing Custom and adjusting the fields.
You can also notify a friend or family member when your location changes.
If you’re in a Family Sharing group, see our article, Share your location with family members.
Stop or pause sharing your location
Pause or stop sharing your location with a specific friend, or hide it from everyone.
- Stop sharing with a friend: Tap People at the bottom-left side of the screen, then tap the name of the person you don’t want to share your location with. Tap the More button, then tap Stop Sharing My Location.
- Pause sharing with a friend: Tap People at the bottom of the screen, then tap the name of the person you want to pause sharing your location with. Tap the More button, then tap Hide Location.
- Hide your location from everyone: Tap Me at the bottom-left side of the screen, then turn off Share My Location.
Respond to a location sharing request
- Start the Find My app on your iPad.
- Tap People at the bottom-left side of the screen.
-
Tap Share below the name of the friend who sent the request and choose how long you want to share your location.
If you don’t want to share your location, tap Cancel.
Stop receiving new location sharing requests
- Start the Find My app on your iPad.
- Tap Me at the bottom of the screen and then turn off Allow Friend Requests.
See also










