For each Find My item, you can opt to share with up to five other people. Apple expanded this in late 2024 with Share Item Location, a secure way to create an expiring link for a lost item that you can share with “airlines and trusted people.”
The sharing limit of up to five other people matches Family Sharing group limits, which can have six people total, but you don’t have to share with others if you’re in a group.
Accepting a Find My item sharing invitation means you won’t be notified in the future when the item is near you. Conversely, you will always be able to see the item in your Items list.
Apple lets you share an AirTag only with someone who uses a phone number or email address associated with an Apple Account, or a contact in your address book that contains an Apple Account-linked phone number or email address.
Share an AirTag
- Go to the Find My app and click or tap the Items button.
- Select a Find My item.
- On a Mac, click the More button in macOS 27, or the Info button in macOS 26 or earlier.
- Click or tap Add Person beneath Share This AirTag/item.
- Apple alerts you about the risks and benefits of sharing a Find My item.
- Click or tap Continue to proceed, or Not Now or Cancel to exit.
- In the Share Item view, you see all your contacts. You can:
- Click or tap a contact that is shown in blue. That indicates an Apple Account-linked element in the contact. (Gray entries have already been added.)
- Click or tap the plus button to view the full contacts list and search within it. These entries are not color guided for Apple Account.
- At the To: prompt, start entering a phone number or email address. You’ll see matching contacts until you pass a point at which there is no match.
- Click or tap the blue checkmark button..
The person you selected appears with a Pending label until they accept. You can click or tap their entry to withdraw the invitation. This item now appears under the oddly named Items I Shared label in Find My.
If you tap a gray entry in the contacts list or try to add someone through another means whose email or phone number lacks a link to an Apple Account, Find My displays an alert that the person isn’t eligible for sharing. I’ve also seen a bug in which nothing happens—a brief stutter and no error—but that person is not added.
When someone shares an item with you
If you’ve had an item shared with you, the shared item appears under Items Shared With Me. Find My reveals the same information as the owner sees on their own devices. On the item’s sheet of actions, click or tap the owner’s name to view the contact associated with them. If you want to stop the item being shared with you, click or tap Remove at the bottom of its detailed view and then, after being told the owner can still track it and you’ll get notifications again when it’s near, click or tap Remove to complete the process.
For someone who has accepted, tap or click their name in the item’s sheet. This presents a simple dialog that lets you tap or click View Friend to show them in Find My’s People view if they’ve shared their location with you; or, you can tap or click Remove and confirm removing their permission to see the item. Click Cancel to exit or tap outside the dialog on an iPhone or iPad.
Share contact details instead
If you want to provide more information to someone finding something of yours, you can use Show Contact Info. Also found under Lost AirTag or Lost Item, the Show Contact Info item lets you add either your phone number or an email address. See what someone sees when they find your lost device.
If you cannot share an item
If you want to share an item and can’t—either sharing it to someone or accessing a shared invitation—it may be one of these reasons:
- Both the sharer and recipient must be running at least iOS 17, iPadOS 17, or macOS 14.
- You can view shared items, but not initiate sharing, on an Apple Watch.
- Only people with the 26.2.1 or later releases of iOS, iPadOS, macOS, or watchOS can view shared 2nd-generation AirTags. See AirTag 2 vs AirTag.
Stop sharing an AirTag
If you’re the owner of an AirTag and no longer want to share it, you can stop sharing in Find My.
-
Go to the Find My app
on your iPhone.
-
Tap Items
, tap the name of the item you’re sharing, then tap
.
- Tap the name of the person you’re sharing it with.
- Tap Stop Sharing, then tap Stop Sharing again.
The person you were sharing with no longer sees the AirTag’s location, but may still get tracking notifications when the AirTag is moving with them.








