You can send a group text message, name it, and assign it an icon to find it more easily. In a group conversation, you can call people’s attention to specific messages and even collaborate on projects.
You can choose group members from your contacts. You can also add someone to an existing group, or leave a group, and messages to a recipient who isn’t using iMessage appear in green bubbles instead of blue ones.

Start a group conversation
You can send a message to multiple people to start a group conversation.
- Go to the Messages app on your iPad.
- In the conversation list, tap the Compose button at the top of the screen.
-
Tap the To field. Enter the phone number, contact name, or Apple Account of each recipient.
To choose group members from your contacts, tap the Add Contact button in the To field.
Note: If one or more of your recipients isn’t using iMessage, messages appear in green bubbles instead of blue ones.
- Tap the text field, enter a message or tap the Add button (to the left of the text field) to send a photo, video, poll, or another item with iMessage apps.
- Tap the Send button.
Add someone to an existing group conversation
If you have at least two other people in a group conversation, you can add additional contacts.
- Open the Messages app on your iPad.
- Tap the group conversation you want to add someone to.
- Tap the group icon at the top of the conversation. Then tap Add.
-
Enter the phone number, contact name, or Apple Account of each recipient.
To add group members from your contacts, tap the Add Contact button in the To field.
- Tap the Done button to save your changes.
Note: If someone in the group hasn’t turned on iMessage, start a new group by following the onscreen instructions.
If you only have one other person in the conversation, you need to start a new group conversation to add someone else.
To remove someone from a group conversation in iMessage, touch and hold their icon, then tap Remove from Group.
You can add someone from a group conversation to your contacts, too. See our guide, Create a contact.
Leave a group conversation
You can leave a group chat if there are at least three other participants in the conversation.
- Open the Messages app on your iPad.
- Tap the group conversation you want to leave.
- Tap the group icon at the top of the conversation.
-
Scroll down and tap Leave This Conversation or Delete and Block This Conversation. (Learn more about deleting and blocking conversations.)
Blocked conversations are moved to the Recently Deleted folder, where you can recover them.
To stay in a group chat but stop receiving its notifications, mute the conversation instead.
Mention people in a group conversation
Mentioning someone by name in a group conversation calls their attention to a specific message and sends them a notification. Depending on their settings, they may get notified even if they’ve muted the conversation.
- Open the Messages app on your iPad.
- In a conversation, begin typing a contact’s name in the text field.
-
Tap the contact’s name when it appears.
You can also mention a contact in Messages by typing @ followed by the contact’s name.
To change whether you get notifications when your name is mentioned in Messages, go to Settings > Apps > Messages, then turn on or off Notify Me.
Name a group conversation
You can name a group chat and choose an icon* to represent the conversation. Everyone who has turned on iMessage sees the new name and image.
- Open the Messages app on your iPad.
- Tap the group icon at the top of the conversation.
- Tap Edit, tap Edit Name & Photo, and then choose an option.
*Availability varies by region.
See also










