You can provide ratings and photos of places you visit to help other Maps users. Your ratings and photos appear everywhere you’re signed in to the same Apple Account.
You can edit your ratings later if you change your mind, share your photos publicly, and edit the photos you’ve added. To upload photos to Apple, you need an Apple Account.
Here’s how to rate places and add photos in Maps on iPad.
Note: The Apple Ratings and Photos feature isn’t available in all countries or regions.
Rate a place
- Go to the Maps app on your iPad.
- Tap a place on the map or a search result, then tap the Like button.
- Tap the Like button or the Dislike button for the available categories. Then tap the Done button.
Changed your mind? You can edit your ratings later.
Add photos for a place
- Start the Maps app on your iPad.
- Tap a place on the map or a search result, then tap the More button.
-
Tap Add Your Photos and then follow the onscreen instructions.
To upload your photos to Apple, you need to have an Apple Account.
Note: If you don’t see ratings categories or the Rate button, you can’t add a photo.
- To credit yourself for the photos you contribute, using either your name or a nickname, tap Photo Credit and then turn on Show Credit. If desired, you can enter a nickname for yourself. (The photo credit option you choose applies to all photos you previously submitted and continue to submit.)
Share your photos publicly
It’s up to you to allow companies to use the photos you add to Maps for their own products and services.
- Start the Settings app on your iPad.
- Tap Apps, then tap Maps.
- Turn on Allow Photo Providers to Use Your Photos.
Photos you share include location data, but not your identity. If you turn this setting off, photo providers may no longer use your photos. (It may take a few days to take effect.)
Edit your photos for a place
Besides photos, your photo credit is something you can add or remove, and you can provide a nickname for your photo credit.
- Start the Maps app on your iPad.
- Tap Places.
- Tap the place whose photos you want to edit. Then tap Your Photos.
- Do one of the following:
- Submit another photo: Tap Add Photo.
- Remove a photo: Tap the More Options button. Tap Delete Your Photo.
- Change your photo credit: Tap the More Options button. Tap Change Photo Credit. The photo credit option you choose applies to all photos you previously submitted and continue to submit.
Stop getting ratings and photos suggestions
You may receive suggestions in Maps to submit a rating or photo if you recently visited or took a photo of a point of interest. These suggestions use on-device processing and can’t be read by Apple. If you don’t want to receive these suggestions, you can turn them off.
- Start the Settings app on your iPad.
- Tap Apps, then tap Maps.
- Turn off Show Ratings and Photos Suggestions.
See also
- Organize places with custom guides in Maps on iPad
- Add places and notes to your Places in Maps on iPad
- Get information about places in Maps on iPad










